L come “Laurie Lipton”

Durante un breve soggiorno romano ho avuto modo di conoscere Laurie Lipton.
questa artista newyorkese, una specie di enfant prodige, visto che già a 4 anni aveva iniziato a scoprire la sua propensione per il disegno. Diplomata alla Carnegie-Mellon University in Pennsylvania in disegno, appunto,  ha vissuto in Olanda, Belgio (Inevitabile notare nei suio disegni l’influenza fiamminga) , Germania and Francia per poi stabilizzarsi a  Londra a partire dal 1986.
Lei stessa definisce così il suo stile e il suo percorso: It’s an insane way to draw, but the resulting detail and luminosity is worth the amount of effort. My drawings take longer to create than a painting of equal size and detail.(…) It was all abstract and conceptual art when I attended university. My teachers told me that figurative art went ‘out’ in the Middle Ages and that I should express myself using form and shapes, but splashes on canvas and rocks on the floor bored me. I knew what I wanted: I wanted to create something no one had ever seen before, something that was brewing in the back of my brain. I used to sit for hours in the library copying Durer, Memling,Van Eyck, Goya and Rembrandt. The photographer, Diane Arbus, was another of my inspirations. Her use of black and white hit me at the core of my Being. Black and white is the color of ancient photographs and old TV shows… it is the color of ghosts, longing, time passing, memory, and madness. Black and white ached. I realized that it was perfect for the imagery in my work.

 

Rispondi

